Skip to content

Homesteading Lite…

December 11, 2008

This blog is going to be dedicated to my attempt at Homesteading Lite. We live on 50 acres in Texas. That’s probably not relative to your reading pleasure, but it has everything to do with me. When I first was married and so in love, my husband would call from the other room, beckoning me to once again admire some random piece of land in some random place and pretend that yes, it was just perfect. Perfect for what, I have no idea. Did you read the part where I was sooo in love? I wanted my husband happy and to feel blessed he has such a supportive wife. I grew up in a suburb of Houston. We lived in a house with a spacious backyard with neighbors and spent our summers at the clubhouse pool and the rest of the year playing tennis. We had yard men, for heavens sake! What was I going to do with LAND?!? As we looked for the “perfect” place to raise our soon to be children, my husband would wax poetic about vegetable gardens and chickens. Chickens?!? He continued to look at land and I continued to have him drive through established neighborhoods with pools, tennis courts, and NEIGHBORS. After I became pregnant, I began to really want a place of our own. We were renting and it just wasn’t ours. I had pregnancy brain. I wanted something that was OURS. I began to waver. Again- I was soooo in love. And that is how we ended up on 50 acres. Sigh. And so begins the quest to learn about vegetable gardening… And chickens… And now there is even talk about a cow. Lord, give me strength…

4 Comments leave one →
  1. fullfreezer permalink
    December 12, 2008 11:22 pm

    Hi. I stumbled across your site. Not sure how or from where. I look forward to hearing more of your adventures. Oh, and I’m insanely jealous of 50 acres.
    Judy

  2. River permalink
    December 14, 2008 2:40 am

    I am insanely jealous of a full freezer. So I guess we are even. πŸ˜‰ Glad you stopped by and I will try not to humiliate myself too much… And if I do- it’s just between us girls, right? πŸ™‚

  3. l0rdsservant permalink
    December 17, 2008 5:40 pm

    Morning!

    I, too, stumbled upon your blog. We’re homesteaders as well, but way up in Minnesota.

    If you’d like to check out our blog the web address is: http://l0rdsservant.wordpress.com/

    Also, there’s a great online homesteading group called New Harvest Homestead that has taught me so much about simple living.

    Blessings,
    Kirsten

    • River permalink*
      December 18, 2008 12:32 pm

      Thanks for the info! I hope you enjoy what you’ve read so far. Sometimes, I think I am only funny in my own mind. I feel God has lead me to this point and into blogging for a reason. I may not know yet what it is, but I’m content to follow His lead.

Leave a Reply

