Skip to content

Children, etc…

December 12, 2008

I have two children. Which doesn’t seem like a lot on paper… Sigh… How did our grandmothers do this with six?!? Between potty time, eating time, and miscellaneous “clean up that mess!” time- there doesn’t seem to be a whole lot of mommy time. I hope my kids hear more from me than the words NO and DON’T and STOP IT. I enjoy reading to them and cuddling with them and loving the stuffing out of them.

But there are those days when the laundry is stacked taller than I can reach, the sink is so full of dirty dishes that I can’t even wash my hands, and my two most precious children are fighting over this poor bedraggled toy that was a freebie from McDonald’s… And I don’t think I can take one more thing. And then the dog throws up on the floor… Yeah, life is like that. But it’s okay. Because then my husband comes home. And gives me the look and asks, “And what have you been doing ALL day?” Then I have to clean up the pieces of whatever object I threw at his head. As if I needed more to do.

And then there are the other days. The laundry is folded and my daughter is helping me put it all away, the sink is empty and the dishwasher is humming a happy tune while it scrubs away and cleans those dirty dishes, and the children play quietly TOGETHER with the same bedraggled toy that was a freebie from McDonald’s, and the dog curls up very picturesquely on the hearth by the fireplace the way dogs are suppose to do. And then, my husband comes home and offers to cook dinner and clean the kitchen afterward so I can sit with my feet up with a cup of hot tea… As if I had no more that needed doing. Yes, life is like that.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

