Skip to content

Eggs…

December 13, 2008


Guess what I did yesterday? Go on, guess. You’ll never get it… I collected eggs from our neighbors chickens. I took my tiny basket and off we went. That was a mistake- I thought a little red riding hood basket would be a GOOD choice. Doesn’t country life just scream cute little basket charmingly lined in calico fabric? The eggs sensed my inexperience and made a break (ha- get it?) for it… Next time it will definitely be a bucket that is nice and deep and keeps the eggs from falling out and breaking on the ground where my children will most likely step in them and get nasty vicious egg gunk all over the floor. Yeah, that happened… Anyhoo- the kind neighbors invited my children to come on over and look at the chickens. We ended up with about two dozen freshly laid chicken eggs. Free!! Take that you money grubbing overpriced grocery store eggs. Free!!! There was a downside. Have you ever seen a freshly laid egg. EWWWWWWW! I don’t know what they were covered in- I had an idea but I definitely didn’t want to KNOW. So home we went with our little basket of yumminess and yuckiness to scour the internet for WHAT DO I DO NOW? There are many helpful websites and the eggs are now clean and refrigerated and ready for the sacrificial frying pan. Whoo-hoo!!!! 

 
Here they are post cold water soapy jaccuzzi getting to know their new friend, Mr. Frying Pan…
2 Comments leave one →
  1. fullfreezer permalink
    December 13, 2008 10:40 pm

    FYI, If you aren’t going to use all those eggs right away, you probably want to lightly rub them down with oil, if you haven’t already. The ‘stuff’ and dirt on the eggs actually seals the microscopic pores in the shell and helps keep them fresh longer, oil will serve much the same purpose. Generally, if I have fresh eggs, I brush as much stuff off as I can but don’t wash them until right before I use them. I don’t have chickens right now but I grew up with them and yeah, the eggs can look pretty nasty.

  2. River permalink
    December 14, 2008 2:42 am

    We ate most of them for breakfast. And they were delicious! The rest, I am use to bake with tomorrow. Thanks for the tip!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

