Skip to content

A Fever and Green Beans

January 24, 2009

Everyone here is definitely on the mend.  I, however, now have a 101 degree fever.  Yippee…  Since we live in this wonderful modern age of medical miracles, I am relying heavily on Tylenol and cough/flu type stuff to get me through the day.  That and liberal doses of Hot Tea.  Which might not make me feel better, but at least guarantees some alone time in the bathroom.  Well, mostly alone…  I’ll take what I can get.  Darling Honey is working overtime today, so it’s just me and the kids.  Again with the yippee…  We are soooo watching cartoons on TV.  Judge me if you must.  I’m okay with that. 

Last night, we had that chicken recipe from the back of the French’s Fried Onions can.  Have any of you ever made it?  It was late, I was tired and we had all the ingredients on hand.  I just wanted to feed the family and go to bed.  What a nice surprise that recipe turned out to be.  It was pretty good.  I did add Jane’s Krazy Mixed-Up Salt and some Paprika to the crushed onions.  Just because I could…  🙂  I heated up some green beans and corn and called, “Dinner!”  Since my brain is not really all here today, I thought I would share what we do to canned green beans to make them taste better:
1.  Open green beans can (with a can opener if you really need that instruction…)

2.  Drain liquid.

3.  Dump green beans in a pot.

4.  Add a can of chicken broth.

5.  Pinch of salt.

6.  Pinch or two of sugar.

7.  Piece (or two) of uncooked bacon.

8.  A couple pieces of onion

9.  Heat.

And then eat…  They taste almost fresh.  Anyone else out there with a few tips on sprucing up anything so it’s just that much better?  I would love to hear of something new.  Or that I’m not the only crazy one who does this to canned green beans. 

Speaking of cooking, what’s your favorite place to get recipes from?  I’m a big fan of the food network and a taste of home. I would add them as links- but I am sick.  And very whiny….

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 24, 2009 10:42 am

    Hope you are on the mend soon. No judgements from here about using cartoons. Last year 2 of my three children and I were all home sick with influenza (the real thing), We snuggled on the couch and watched movies for most of the day drifting in and out of sleep. I fed them Campbell’s chicken noodle soup. You do what you need to do.

  2. January 29, 2009 10:43 pm

    I’m enjoying your blog already!

    Add bacon to anything and it’s great! 🙂

Leave a Reply

