Skip to content

Cheesy Chicken Spaghetti- doing it my way

February 15, 2009

Here’s dinner at our house.  Last night at 4:30, we were getting hungry.  No problem, I thought.  We’ve been out of town for a week, but we have stuff in the pantry- I can adapt…  So here’s the recipe (and here’s what we actually did):

1 package 7 oz. spaghetti, broken (yeah- I used the whole box of angel hair- I hate opened boxes in the pantry- so that’s 12 oz. )

2 cups cubed cooked chicken (I poached a package of chicken breasts and cut it up and threw it all in, extra protien!)

2 cups shredded cheddar cheese, divided (Didn’t see the word divided- so I used about 6 cups- more on this later)

1 can cream of chicken soup (Since I used twice as much pasta, I doubled this also)

1 cup Milk (I had to double this also- It was too thick to stir without the second cup of milk…)

1 Tablespoon diced pimentos (ick- we left this out!)

1/4 teaspoon salt (pour salt until you feel you have enough in there)

1/4 teaspoon pepper (didn’t even see this ingredient when I made it…)

1.  Cook spaghetti according to package directions. (Put the pasta in the pot and WALK AWAY.  When you remember about it, it will only be slightly overcooked…)  Meanwhile, in a bowl, combine the chicken, 1 cup cheese, soup, milk, pimientos if desired, dalt and pepper.  (Yeah, that’s a long list.  Can you see why I forgot about the pepper?!?  And the cheese…  Well, it normally comes in 2 cup bags, but I had the super large one and we don’t measure real well around here.  I just dumped until it looked like I had a couple of cups in there.  Missed that darn divided word in the beginning, and now I have overlooked the plainly stated  1 CUP)  Drain spaghetti; add to the chicken mixture and toss to coat.  (Dump it all together and stir until your child starts screaming that her brother took her toy.  Walk away to deal with the trama and come back and notice that it is really hard to stir once it has started to congeal a little…  Hence the extra milk.  Stir quickly and move on- You’re almost done!)

2.  Transfer to a greased 13X9 in baking dish.  (Okay- I know how I cook and I have invested in a slightly larger and deeper pan for occasions such as these when I forget how quickly the dish grows and ends up being enough to feed an army.  I have also divided stuff in the past and frozen half.)  Sprinkle with remaining cheese (what?  Oh yeah, reread the directions- I was suppose to DIVIDE 2 cups of cheese…  Geez.  I still sprinkled, we love cheese…)  Bake, uncovered at 350 degrees for 20-25 minutes or until heated through.  (Or until the rest of the meal is done, whichever…)

And that’s how we roll at my house…

So… What’s for dinner at your house?

One Comment leave one →
  1. Amy permalink
    February 18, 2009 9:52 pm

    Yum! Thanks for posting this! You’ve already read my post, so right now I have little contribute. 🙂

Leave a Reply

