Skip to content

Baby Days are here again…

February 26, 2009

No, I am not pregnant.  It just seems like there are a lot of pregnant people around me these days.  Maybe it’s because my son is about to turn two and this was when we were planning on working for a third child.  When I had my son, I had some complications.  Long story short- I had congestive heart failure and was diagnosed with peripartum cardiomyopathy.  I don’t think I spelled it right and I really don’t care.  Aren’t I abrasive today?  Anywhoo- it means it would be better for me not to become pregnant again.  Which is fine for the most part.  I am extremely blessed with two healthy and adorable children.  But there is just something about someone telling you no that makes you want to do it.  Know what I mean?  I wanted a houseful of kids.  As crazy as I know now that to be (I have two I can barely keep up with!).  Anywhoo- (can you tell my ADD is kickin’ into overdrive?) with all these pregnant friends and family members, I have really started to focus on baby stuff.  And it makes me a little teary eyed to think I won’t be at that point ever again in my life.  Of course, it’s been just long enough for me to forget about the sleepless nights, the first illness, and all the other not so fun stuff that goes along with a newborn.  Instead, I remember the first moment I saw my son and daughter, the sweet smell of their hair as they nestles in on my shoulder, the soft suckling sound as they drank, and the feel of the soft pat from their hand on my cheek.  But time marches on and there are wonderful things about the age they are now.  My daughter telling her first joke, my son’s belly laughs, when they say, “I love you, momma.”  Yeah, it’s not so bad…And besides- I only have one child left in diapers…  Yeah, it’s not so bad at all…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

