Skip to content

Going Green…

March 18, 2009

Yesterday, my MOPS (Mothers of Preschoolers) group meet and we discussed being green.  Not like Kermit and there was no catchy song.  Our loss…  Anywhoo- we discussed being environmentally responsible and all that and the speaker (the original speaker couldn’t make it due to fog and one of our own stepped in and did a lovely job using the original’s slides and notes) talked about making your own household cleaners.  I liked the things she had to say and she even provided recipes from her friend’s (original speaker’s) website.  (Maybe I should upload a flow chart to keep all these people straight.  Wait, I’m trying to stick to the point.  I had one when I started, I know I did!)  So I thought I would try one thing at a time and see how it went.  (Whew!  I made it back to my point.  Did I lose anyone on the way?)  You know how I love being responsible and all…  You know it’s not polite to laugh at others.  Anywhoo- I mixed up the basic soap and water spray recipe and cleaned the kitchen counters.  I liked how simple it was to mix (who doesn’t have soap and water?!?) and how I didn’t even freak out even a little bit when my son managed to get a hold of the spray bottle and give himself a facial.  Okay- now you know my real motivation for going green.  My son looks like he only has two hands, but let me tell you- he has got to have at least two others hidden somewhere on his body!  I can not keep him out of stuff!  And the boy is quiet.  He is the master of the stealth attack.  SIGH.  We have been using a white vinegar/water mix to clean our snap laminate floors.  It gives them a little bit of a shine and, once again, I don’t have to worry about my mutant child of the many hands.  I have even been known to hand the bottle and a rag to my daughter and let her have at it.  She thinks its fun…  I think my daughter may be a neat freak.  Another genetic mutation…  Heaven help us…

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 18, 2009 6:48 pm

    My hubby is currently writing the ‘Project Greenify’ blog for a Texas energy company (Bounce) and is always looking for ideas for topics. I’ll have to suggest the cleaning products. We have been making some of our own for a few years so it’s something that’s easy to forget because for us it’s so automatic.
    Judy

Leave a Reply

