Skip to content

Sleep

March 26, 2009

Today, I’m going to talk about sleep.  And the lack thereof.  When I was younger, single, and thinner (that has nothing to do with sleep, but I thought I would throw that in there anyway), I use to sleep 8 hours a night.  With no problem.  I would turn off the TV or close my book/Bible, turn off the light and immedeatly be putting out some serious zzzz’s.  Then I got married, had two kids, still working on losing that baby weight and started getttin 5-6 hours of sleep a night.  And it’s killing me.  I put the kids to bed, clean the kitchen, crawl into bed and watch the red numbers on my bedside clock slowly march on.  Every so often I will FINALLY drop off and one of my children will wake up and need me or the dog has decided that NOW would be a good time for a drink and a little exercise.  I take care of those needs, yawning and sighing the whole time and then crawl back into bed.  And lay awake for the next hour or so watching the clock change, again.  And then when I FINALLY drop off to sleep, one of my children will wake up or the dog will need…  And that’s how my night goes.  It’s really wearing me out.  It’s probably the reason I haven’t lost the baby weight.  And caused a few wrinkles to appear around my eyes.  And caused me to become addicted to reality TV.  Because, surely, I’m not getting old, lazy, and boring, right?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 26, 2009 4:29 pm

    I seem to remember reading somewhere that sleep is actually related to weight loss- or lack there of. I wish now I could remember where I saw that. I don’t sleep either. I think I actually got six and a half hours last night which is good for me.
    Hang in there and take care of yourself.

  2. April 1, 2009 9:14 pm

    I feel ya. It made me sleepy reading this! I’m getting decent sleep right now, but in about 3 months… wow. Losing sleep really changes life for me, as it does for many people, I’m sure. I hope you get through this lack-of-sleep period soon!

Leave a Reply

