Skip to content

Garden News

March 31, 2009

Yesterday we worked in the garden.  Want to know what we planted?  Well, I’ll tell you then, thanks for asking…  We had planted onions and potatoes before and added tomatoes, cucumbers, squash, zucchini, watermelon, canteloupe, radishes, turnips, green beans, carrots, and lettuce. 

I’m tired just thinking about it.  It’s not the right time for everything, but once I got started, I wanted to finish.  (Okay, fine- my husband was watching the kids so I could plant and I didn’t want to leave the garden and return to the chaos.)  The kids did help a bit and then got tired of covering the seeds so they wanted to go back to the backyard and just dig.  My son especially was traumatized when I started covering up his nicely dug holes in the garden with seeds and dirt.    There were tears and cries of “Nooo!”  Yeah- from the MOMMY!  Because, let me tell you, those plastic toy shovels pack quit a wallop when swung by a ginormous almost two year old.  I still have marks today.  My son did tear up and do the lower lip pout when I finally took his shovel from him.  Yes, it took me more than one whack from my son to actually take the shovel from him.  I thought saying, “No, Little Buddy, don’t hit Mommy.” really would work… 

My daughter was much more philisophical about the whole covering up her wonderfully dug holes thing.  She would just heave a great sigh and comment, “Now I have to start all over again.” in her saddest voice…  You know the one.  Usually reserved for when the popscicle melts too fast and drops on the grass before you can finish eating it. 

It was lovely fun-filled family day.  Can’t waith until next weekend when we get to pull weeds…  At least there will not be any shovels…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 31, 2009 8:31 pm

    Oh, I’m so jealous. Well, not about getting hit with a plastic shovel- but about planting things out. We are just now at the time when we can plant peas and such but it’s another month before I dare plant anything tender.
    Glad to hear you had a good day’s work.

Trackbacks

  1. Updated garden news… « Life Uncomplicated

Leave a Reply

