Skip to content

A month in review…

June 22, 2009

Yikes!  Has it really been a month since I last wrote?  Ohhhhh, I am a bad blogger.  My head is hung in shame. 

 

Well, I guess I better catch everyone up. 

The chickens.  They eat a lot.  They cackle a lot.  And they have not produced any eggs.  Hussy chickens.  They have started to give me the eye when I go to let them out during the day.  And when I turn around, they rush me.  They stop when I look back at them.  So, I’ve taken to backing away slowly so as not to turn my back on them.  I don’t trust those beady eyed things.  They like my husband a little too much.  

The garden.  I grew a squash as big as a cat.  Such an abundance of healthy food had to be dealt with quickly.  So I cut that monster up, breaded it, and fried it.  It was delicious.  We have lots of squash, zucchini, onions, potatoes, and cucumbers.  Even the carrots have done well.  The tomatoes, however, are still green.  The onions have all been pulled and dried.  They are hanging in our closet.  It’s the only cool dark place we have.  We are working on a root cellar.  Meaning, we have decided we need one and have looked at where we would put one.  We haven’t done any actual work or anything…  The potatoes have all been harvested and stored as well. 

The children.  My, how they grow.  We have been to a dance recital, vacation bible school, and swimming lessons.  My daughter enjoyed her dance recital immensely.  Not that she knew the dance or even cared that she knew the dance.  She stood on stage smiling and waving and freestyling her way through the music.  She was a hit.  VBS was also fun.  They had a presentation on the last night.  The children all stand at the front of the church and sing songs.  My daughter, once again, enjoyed every minute.  She knew about half the words and threw in a few dance moves just for the fun of it.  I’m not sure what the older members of our congregation thought, but I loved it.  Except when she started her impersonation of a saloon hall dancer and started swishing her skirt.  It wasn’t so bad at first, but by the end of the song, well…  Everyone now knows that Sweet Pea wears bikini panties.  Yes, in church, this was discovered.  SIGH.  My son also loved the VBS presentation.  He stood up in the pew and danced the whole time.  We may not be invited back.  The kids both loved the swim lessons.  I’m no sure they learned anything, but what the hey.  They got to get in the water everyday.  And I got to sit and watch.  45 minutes of child cling free bliss.  I may have to sign up for a second round. 

Now that summer is here, I am looking forward to some sprinkler time in the backyard this week.  Nothing says summer like children shrieking and running around half naked in the yard.  I would let them run around naked, to save on laundry and all, but we don’t want any nasty sunburns.  Hope your summer is shaping up to be all that you would like!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

