Skip to content

Life in general

September 4, 2009

What a crazy couple of weeks! 

My husband took me to Louisiana for a weekend.  Without children!  We had fun, but Sunday morning, I woke up with cellutitis of the ear.  Very Gross!  Antibiotics and sleeping about 72 hours were all it took  for me to start feeling like a human again.  And let’s face it.  It was so worth it to get the 72 blessed hours of sleep.  I awoke feeling very refreshed.

Sweet Pea started school.  It’s just pre kindergarten three days a week, but it’s been a real blast.  I was a little teary eyed to see her go- you know, the whole my-baby-is-growing-up-too-fast thing.  But she was THRILLED to go.  For orientation, all the other little children were clinging to their mommies and some were crying.  Not my girl- she looked over her shoulder as she jogged away saying “‘Bye, Mom.  See you later!”  We did start a few “traditions” for back to school that (I hope) we will be able to continue as Sweet Pea continues in her schooling (and Little Buddy, too).  We did the back to school pillow the night before, took oodles of pictures, worked on a back to school gift for her teacher, and bought a back to school dress.  This time of year is when I miss teaching the most.  That whole back to school vibe is hard to ignore.  Couple that with the excitement of a four year old starting preschool for the first time, and I was almost giddy with delight myself.  I thought long and hard about a back to school gift for her teacher.  I really wanted something that I would have liked as a teacher.  And I wanted to do a “back to school” gift to let her teacher know I appreciated all the hard work she has already done in preparation for this school year.  So here’s what I came up with:

I used the pattern I had purchased from Craft Apple.  Sweet Pea loved that it matched her pillow.  She is such a girly girl!  She had a great first day and couldn’t hardly wait to do it all again on Tuesday.

In other news, our chickens are laying about 8-11 eggs a day.  We have had breakfast casserole, scrambled eggs, quiche, strata, and frittatas galore.  I’m running out of ideas, but not eggs!  If anyone has an excellent egg recipe- please pass it on!  I could use a little help here.  I have three dozen eggs in my fridge right now and the hens are all cacklin’ and laughing about all the eggs they are planning on laying tomorrow.  As I’ve mentioned before, we have hussy chickens.

What else has been going on?  Well, we signed Sweet Pea up for dance again.  Even after all the trauma from last year.  She has been giving us “recitals” every night all summer long.  I thought, surely, this would get boring after awhile, but apparently not.  SIGH.  SO we are going to give it another go. 

I also signed Little Buddy and Sweet Pea up for Awana’s.  They start this Sunday.  I will be good for everyone, because I will get to go to “big girl” bible study.  Can I have an AMEN!!!  I hear a hallelujah chorus every time I think about it.  Of all the things that changed after having kids, missing out on adult bible study has been the hardest.  I know this is just a season and will soon pass, but I have missed being able to focus and meet God for more than a spare moment here and there.  I do pray “without ceasing” as any mother with young children invariably does, but it’s been a lot of  me talking and not so much of the me listening.  I am hoping that will change.  I want it to so desperately.

Well, that’s all for now.  Have a lovely day.

Blessings to all.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

