Skip to content

A return to life…

February 15, 2010

I don’t know if you’ve ever experienced a down time in life.  A time when, for absolutely NO reason, everything just seems wrong.  Welp- I just finished a season of that.  I know God uses all things to help us grow, but some things I really wish I could miss.  Which makes me realize that I didn’t learn what I needed to in that season and it’s like to come back again.  Sheesh. 

Well, my life has been busy.  I’ve forgotten many things I wanted to share.  But I will let you know what’s going on now in my life.  We had a blast of cold here in Texas and my honey went all manly and headed to the back of the property to cut fallen trees for firewood.  He spent the morning out there with the chainsaw and came back grinning like a fool.  Very proud of himself, he was.  We headed to the bathroom and stripped down to shower.  And being the good wife that I am (Yes, it does happen on occasion) I decided to do laundry and sorted the clothes into piles.  Noting that my clothes would go in the first batch, I promptly took them off and tossed them onto the pile of clothes that were to go in the first load.  The load containing my husbands outside clothes…  Naked as the way God made me- I scooped up the clothes and headed for the laundry room.  The first and last time I take clothes naked to the laundry room.  Guess who is hyper-sensitive to posion ivy.  Really?  In WINTER?!?  Yep.  By the next day, I was splotchy and itchy and red along my hips and belly.  And, there was seepiness.  Now this occurred on a Friday.  What to do-  emergency room?  I don’t think so!  I can tough it out!!!  By Monday morning, I was hoping for a quick death…  I was able to get in to the doctor to find out that, yes, I am HYPER sensitive to posion ivy.  Of which my husband, evidently, is NOT allergic.  Good to know.  They prescribed some medicine that causes insomnia and sent me home.  Oh joy.  No sleep, itchiness, seepage, and two small children…  Normal stuff in my life…   Of  course, my story would not be that simple.  Oh no…  By Thursday evening, I was developing a NEW angry red itchy rash.  Saturday saw me a complete basket case (yes, it was a side effect listed from the medicine!  How fun is that?) And on Monday, I was back in the doctor’s office with congestive heart failure, a rash that reached from my chest past my stomach, down my legs to my knees.  And in the inside of my elbows.  Turns out, they thought I might be allergic to the medicine they had prescribed for the posion ivy.  How neat is that?  And so, they took me off the meds and sent me home with over the counter benedryl and zyrtec.  Three days later, and I’m still getting worse.  Another trip to the doctor and it turns out it’s NOT the medicine.  And so begins the great quest of discovering just what it is I should be avoiding.  Besides doing laundry naked…  Turns out, I’m allergic to bear meat.  Our new neighbors are hunters and killed a bear in Washington state.  They kindly shared the meat with us.  It was delicious.  And the last time in my life I will ever get to eat it.  The doc said they had seen reactions similar to mine in realtion to venision.  Bear meat.  Okay.  I will add that to the list of things to never do again…  No naked laundry and no bear meat.  I think I can remember that…

Here’s hoping ya’ll are having an itch free day!

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 16, 2010 5:20 pm

    I know I shouldn’t laugh… No naked laundry and no bear meat. Are you REALLY sure you can do without those?
    Hang in there, I hope things get better soon.

Leave a Reply

