Skip to content

Five Years Ago Today..

April 19, 2010

This was me:

Why, yes, I am a vision of loveliness in the morning, thank you.  In my defense, my water broke at 4:45 in the morning and it was my first child.  I was also three weeks early and had NO idea what to expect since we had not taken our birthing class thingy.  I knew there was something about breathing.  And at some point there would be pushing…  So I called the night nurse and she said to go to the hospital IMMEDIATELY.  So I brushed my teeth and hair (I can’t help it if it LOOKS like it has never seen a brush).  If I had known it would take 13 hours- I would have fixed myself up a little…  Maybe…  There’s no changing the fact that it was 4:45 in the morning…

Things started off just fine.  Water broke: Check!  Contractions: Check!  Then things kinda stalled.  I chose to get an epidural (hey- we all get to make our own choices, let’s play nice, shall we?) and then, because things had just stalled, they gave me some pitosin or something to make labor advance.  Whatever they gave me did the trick.  And the pushing began.  And the epidural ran out.  And my hips didn’t spread.  They gave me an episitomy.  And the child got stuck.  The nurse JUMPED onto the bed with me and started pushing on my stomach.  I had no idea what was happening.  But hey- they were the professionals…  Anyway, after a lot of work on everyone’s part- out came this precious beauty.  9 on the Apgar.  And uncountable joy in my heart.

Why yes, she IS the most beautiful little girl in the whole wide world.  I noticed the very same thing.

Well, that was the beginning.  And we glance at the next few years:

And here she is today, still beautiful, still making my heart thrill with every sweet smile:

I would so do it all over again.  Happy birthday, baby girl.  I love you more than life.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

